Hong Kong: Cultural Chic

Step out on the streets of Hong Kong and you’ll see that this busy city is full of both cultural elements and sophisticated city living. In our extended layover here, we’ve seen many areas of both Hong Kong and Kowloon, as well as Victoria Bay. Beautiful Chinese-style boats are abundant here in the harbor, making the water a colorful sight to see.

While here, we’ve also had the opportunity to indulge in some of the city’s world-famous street food. We stopped for shelter at a small place on Bar Street to get a quick bite to eat. I settled on a spicy octopus kabob.

Dim sum was also a favorite! Here’s the “Goldfish” style dumpling at Serenade Restaurant, located right on Victoria Harbor.

But of course, no Hong Kong trip is complete without visiting the vibrant night markets. We visited the famous Ladies Market near Nathan Street, where there were various Chinese souvenirs, clothes, purses, and electronics cases for sale at very low prices (I bought both of my Chinese style shirts/garments for less than $20!)

We also got to explore the night time fruit markets, where there are plenty of tropical fruits available for low prices.

Our trip was cut short by Typhoon Vicente, which is currently pounding on our hotel window as I write this. We weren’t able to go around for most of the day today because of this type 8 typhoon, but I definitely hope to return here to this busy city one day (when it’s more sunny)!

6 comments

  1. Oh, the memories! πŸ™‚

    I had the opportunity to visit Hong Kong in January 2012 and the hostel I stayed in was right by that Ladies’ Night Market. ^^ I fell in love with the food and vice versa. The weather, I found wanting, but the city still calls to me. If you get a chance, take the hour-long ferry ride to Macau! It can be a day trip. πŸ˜€

    1. Hehe, I wish! If this typhoon blows over I’m scheduled to leave tomorrow 😦 in other news, have you figured out your travel plans for your stopover yet? πŸ™‚

      1. Well, there’s always next time! πŸ™‚

        haha, I’m still settled on the Philippines, but my travel buddy hasn’t replied yet. :/ le sigh.

  2. I am sure you left with many memories of what seems to be a non stop city.
    Very exciting, good photos and story

    1. Yes! It was definitely an adventure, but I had a wonderful time and hope to return one day!

      ~Kay

Leave a comment