The Outpost, Cebu: My First Ukulele Gig

On Wednesday night we were invited by a few family friends to The Outpost, a nice little restaurant and bar in downtown Cebu. Having nothing better to do, my uncle and I happily obliged.

The place has a vibrant music scene, with bands performing almost every night. I got lucky enough to play ukulele between band sets. It was nerve-wracking, but pretty fun!

I started my show off with a shy smile and “Hi, I’m Kay, a student from Houston, Texas.” I played a three-song program and even got asked to play an encore by a new friend, Carl, who I met that night. Even though my performance was short, I really enjoyed playing in front of the crowd, who were very supportive and relaxed.

We sat around, eating some deliciousΒ lechon and talking about our favorite music. Everyone there seemed to be a musician, and we took turns playing my ukulele and singing. It was a great time, and we didn’t end up making it home until almost 1 AM. It’s nights like these that I really enjoy while traveling — especially when I feel like I’m not so foreign to this place after all.

(Me with two of the co-owners of The Outpost)

18 comments

  1. Hi Kay, that sounds like a fun event, and playing the Ukulele is v impressive!. Your blog is fun to read, happy blogging!

    1. Thanks so much! Your comment just made my day πŸ™‚ And thank you so much for reading and supporting. I truly appreciate your kind words and I can’t wait to see what you have in store for your blog as well!

      ~Kay

  2. Sounds like a lovely evening! Thanks for the post.

    1. Thanks for stopping by and for your sweet comment. πŸ™‚

      ~Kay

      1. Good luck with the playing!

  3. the outpost is in uptown cebu. πŸ™‚

  4. Very nice post and straight to the point. I am not sure if this is really the best place to ask but do you guys have any ideea where to employ some professional writers? Thanks in advance πŸ™‚

  5. Hi Kay, You are very talented. Love your blog. Keep posting and good luck with your uke playing and studies!

  6. ‘Twas really nice of you to have honored us with your sweet voice and wonderful talent with the uke!

    Hope to see you again this Wednesday (kindly check your Gmail inbox).

  7. Hey, Kay! The gig schedule has been moved to Thursday. See you then! Cheers!

    1. Wonderful! Sorry I’ve been a little slow at answering emails…I haven’t really had time to sit down at my computer. But yep! We’ll see you on Thursday. πŸ™‚

      ~Kay

  8. What an awesome experience. Takes a lot of courage to play in front of others.

  9. Thank you for liking my blog. I know Cebu City, have been there a few times, but don’t think I ever went to The Outpost. I’ve also stayed at the Shangri-la on Mactan Island, which is an excellent resort that I’d recommend to anyone in need of a weeks rest and relaxation.

    Blu.

    1. The Shangri-La is definitely one of the most famous resorts in the Mactan area. Glad you’ve been able to see it! We usually stay at Bluewater Maribago because a family-friend owns it, but we’ve seen the Shangri-La and it looks amazing. Thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

      ~Kay

  10. Cez Prieto · · Reply

    You went here indeed! But sad to say The Outpost bid goodbye last September. You are one lucky girl to be able to perform here. I went here before to support a friend and her band.

    1. What? Why did it close down?! I really really liked it the two times I performed there. My uncles used to come here for years…and it seemed like such a successful restobar! Tell me more!

      ~Kay

      1. Cez Prieto · ·

        I don’t know the exact details but I heard that they closed down in favor of progress issues. Yup, a lot of people broke down after they released the sad news.

      2. I mean, I feel like The Outpost was a main staple of Cebu’s music scene. Extremely sad to see it go, but I’m glad I got to make good memories there while it was still alive and well!

        ~Kay

Leave a Reply

