How To: Make Market Fresh Guacamole

After traveling to many market-driven towns, I decided to write my very first how-to about how to get fresh ingredients and make tasty Filipino-infused guacamole. This is an easy and quick recipe that’s made with all raw ingredients. Here’s what you’ll need:

A market

A set of user-friendly legs

A bowl

A knife

A spoon

Now, in order to make the freshest guacamole, use your two legs and walk to the nearest fresh market, whether it’s a local farmer’s market or the staple food marketplace in your area and pick up:

2 ripe avocados

2 tomatos

2 red onions

1 small bell pepper

2 limes (I used Filipino citrus calamansi)

Salt

Pepper

Okay, now you’re ready to begin!

Step 1:

Cut your avocados in half and spoon them into a bowl. Then mash the avocados into a paste.

Step 2:

Add one lime to your avocado mix. If that’s not enough, add another (to taste). Mix evenly into the avocados.

Step 3:

Chop the tomatos, onions, and peppers. Add to the mixture. Mix together.

Step 4:

Finally, add salt and pepper to the mixture, to taste.

Mix and refrigerate until cool, then serve!

Here in the Philippines, I substitute calamansi for lime and keping (baked cassava chips) for tortilla chips. This adds a local flavor to this international dip and these ingredients are a lot easier to find here.

Now that I’ve shared my “Philippine spin” on classic guacamole, what other recipes or how-to’s would you like to see? Let me know in the comments!

4 comments

  1. Looks awesome! Thanks for sharing this– guacamole is very much a foreign concept in Argentina… I’m sure my host family will appreciate my sharing it 🙂

    1. Haha, it’s actually a pretty foreign concept here in the Philippines too! Luckily, all of the ingredients are readily available, so I taught my relatives how to make it and they all love it!

  2. kadkhodai · · Reply

    I love guac! And this looks great. Thanks for the recipe and pics.

    1. Thank you! I really love guac too, haha. Give it a try and let me know how you like it! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog, hope you’ll come by again! 🙂

      ~Kay

Leave a Reply

