In Transit: From LA to Cebu

At last, it was time for me to make my leap from the west coast of the USA to Cebu City in the Philippines. This was my longest and farthest solo trip ever, totaling over 20 hours of travel time from the time I got to LAX to the time I left Cebu International Airport!

On Sunday night, Uncle Ray brought me to LAX to catch my 11:50 PM flight to Hong Kong. Packed and ready, I said my goodbyes and headed off to my gate, but not without a photo first!

At last, I boarded my plane. Seeing my transpacific journey on the screen was both thrilling and frightening at the same time!

I sat next to a lovely woman who was on her way to Cebu for a mission trip. The daunting 14-hour flight was surprisingly painless. I watched Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, which was an excellent movie. I almost cried at some parts, but it had a happy ending. I definitely recommend it to anyone!

At last, at 5 AM on June 5, I landed in Hong Kong. (Keep in mind that I left LAX at 11:50 PM on July 3…time quite literally flew!) We got there right as the sun began to rise, which gave us some ridiculously pretty views during our landing.

And finally, I made it to Cebu. Grandma and Auntie Nancy picked me up from the airport and he headed to Auntie Mila and Uncle Manet’s. Instead of sleeping when I got to the house, I went shopping and to the salon with my grandmother and aunt! It was a fun and cheerful way to overcome my jetlag quickly.

Of course, I got tired very early (around 7 PM) so I ate dinner in my pajamas. Before I went to bed, my relatives wanted me to try a native fruit, durian. It was…interesting. I can’t really describe it in words, but the smell was certainly pungent.

(As they say…”tastes like heaven but smells like hell”)

Although the journey was long and far, I’d say it was worth the wait!

Leave a Reply

