Flashback Friday: An Afternoon in Paris

When I was in London during my very first solo trip, I decided to hop on the Eurostar and go to Paris for a day. While I’d love to go to Paris and stay longer, this was certainly a great first look into the city. 

The first thing that caught my eye was the beautiful, regal architecture of the buildings. As trite as it sounds, I felt like I were riding straight through the era of Marie Antoinette.

The French Academy, where France’s top scholars make important decisions regarding the French language. C’est chouette!

Of course, while there, I stopped to check out the Cathedral of Notre Dame. This beautiful, gothic cathedral stands out amongst all of the buildings with its giant flying buttresses and majesty.

I also took a short river cruise, where I got to see a lot of Parisian scenes from the beautiful Seine River.

It wouldn’t be a trip to Paris without stopping at the Arc de Triomphe. It looked just as I imagined it!

Being an art junkie, my absolute favorite part of the day was visiting the Louvre Museum. It was so beautiful and it was amazing seeing things I’d only ever seen in movies and photos.

Walking through, I felt like a fish in a sea of tourists. The building was very crowded but the interior was beautiful.

Of course, I stopped to gaze at the renowned Mona Lisa, who, of course, was surrounded by tourists.

So, although my stay in Paris was brief, I hit most of the major areas. I’m really hoping to go back one day and explore Paris for what it really is — a city of immense beauty and surprise. So, Paris, this isn’t a goodbye, just a “see you soon!”

Please like my page on Facebook for updates, smiles, deals, and photos! :)

Also, follow me on Twitter!

17 comments

  1. Such gorgeous photos! I went to Paris earlier this year and this post was the perfect way to make me remember it all and smile. Thanks :-)

    1. Gabriela,

      Thank you so much for your kind words and for stopping by my blog! I want to hear all about your travels through Paris — I’m really hoping to go back one day and stay longer!

      ~Kay

  2. I came over to thank you for the ‘like’….and found this post!
    I lived in France for over twenty years….Paris wasn’t my favourite place but it had its high spots…like the Clignancourt flea market…most expensive fleas in the world!

    1. I’ll definitely have to check out that market next time I go! Thank you for stopping by my blog :)

      ~Kay

  3. Ahhhh Paris ! I love Paris. I went by myself for the first time when I was 21 years old. I stayed in this cute little street in the middle of Paris and I remember my friend coming over from London to hang out for the weekend. Being totally new and naive to the city I suggested we walk to all the main sites. 8 hours later we fell back through the door of the hotel exhausted haha
    I still believe the best way to see a city is on foot – but this could have been a bit extreme.
    Great photos – Paris is a beautiful place :)

    1. Haha, yes! I actually had to walk to all of the sites as well, the metro was under some sort of construction. But it was definitely worth it as I got to see a lot of things I might have missed if I’d taken public transportation!

      ~Kay

      1. Oh sounds just like my first time there too. There was construction around all the main tourist attractions. I don’t have many photos due to this haha

  4. Thanks for sharing! It reminds me of my 3 trips to Paris and believe me everytime I go I fall in love with it more and more each time.

    1. I can’t wait to go back!

      ~Kay

  5. Beautiful captures. Great tribute to this lovely city!

    1. Thank you for stopping by and for your kind words!

      ~Kay

    1. Thank you very much!

      ~Kay

  6. in my bucket list!

    1. Wonderful! Hope you make it there one day!

      ~Kay

  7. Thank you for the like. I’m glad it brought me to your fantastic blog and particularly this post. I lived in Paris for a year before coming to China and I miss it’s beauty. Great pic of la tour Eiffel.

    1. A,

      Thank YOU for stopping by my blog! I appreciate all of your kind words. I loved Paris — it was beautiful and fascinating. Definitely need to go back and stay longer one day! Can’t wait to see/hear more from you :)

      ~Kay

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

